2013 Season, Boom Artists, Boomerang 15, Indie Theatre Community, Rep Season

TO FOOL THE EYE’s Jennifer Larkin

I’ve asked various people who are working on the Rep season to contribute a blog post or two. We love introducing them to you, so that they feel like old friends a few weeks from now when you see them onstage. Here’s a post from Jennifer Larkin, one of the stars of To Fool The Eye opening September 20th.

*****jen_larkin

1)      What’s your previous experience been with Boomerang? Productions, readings, workshops?

I am pleased to say that I have a longstanding history with Boomerang, my first show being in 2003 when I did Substance of John AP Book V: Jack Kerouac by (my then future husband) Frank Kuzler, after working on the play the previous spring as part of Boomerang’s First Flight series. In the following few years, I went on to do O’Neill’s Beyond the Horizon and Anna Christie, as well as Giant-n-Variation, again by Frank. I have also happily participated in a number of the First Flights, and have always been a strong supporter of the company.

2)      How is the rehearsal process going for your show?

I have to say that working on To Fool the Eye has been a real pleasure. Cailin Heffernan is a wonderfully funny, honest and inspiring director, and I can say that after having worked with her previously on not only most of the Boomerang shows I mention above but also on many non-Boomerang projects, it is always an amazing ride with her. To do something like this that balances a wild, larger-than-life style and comedy with a story with some real heart, is the best kind of challenge.

3)      What are you most looking forward to about your show?

I can’t wait to see how it’s all going to fall into place. Being a non-singer, I love that I can say we have some terrific “numbers” up our sleeve in this show – it really is going to be such fun. And, I look forward to playing with this amazing cast each time. 

A little about Jen…
“In June 2009, I proudly helped launch the not-for-profit organization DecadesOut. Its mission is to raise public awareness of the cultural impact between science and humanity. It produces works of fiction and non-fiction in theatre, film, and the visual arts. In New York, I have also produced theatre in the New York International Fringe Festival and am actively involved in the development of a number of film projects at DedPro Inc.

I proudly hold a BA in English and a BFA in Acting from the University of Connecticut, and have also studied at the Circle in the Square Theatre School. I am also pleased to report an affinity for pilates, baking, and chasing after my very own Superhero-in-training, my 3-year-old son Frankie .”

To Fool The Eye runs September 20th-Oct 13th at TheaterLab. Tickets are available here.

Leave a Reply

