Boom Artists, Boomerang Support, donations, How you can help, Indie Theatre Community, Planning

The Boomerang Community: Michael Roderick

As part of our Holiday fundraising campaign, we’ve asked members of Boomerang’s artistic family to write about our company and what makes us unique for them. We hope that you will recognize our distinctive contribution to New York City theatre with a financial gift this holiday season. You can make any size tax-deductible donation here.

But don’t take our word for it…

Michael Roderick

It’s one thing to respect the work of a theatre company in NY and come and see some of their shows, it’s another thing to enjoy the work and the people so much that you become a board member. Such was the case for me as a result of seeing a number of Boomerang’s shows and having Tim be a part of some of the earlier networking events I threw.

What drew me to the company originally was the fact that all of the actors who I respected and admired where doing Boomerang shows. It seemed that any time I would see a great Indie Theatre play, there were people who were in it who I had previously seen in a Boomerang production so I was naturally curious to see more of the shows. As I started hanging out more and more, I was eventually approached by Tim and Sue about being on the board. Having been involved with Broadway and a number of other ventures I was approached by a number of people about being involved in boards and had originally decided that there really was no time to do it, but after having seen such great work and great people for so many years, I decided I’d give it a shot.

It’s been a really incredible experience thus far. I am involved in artistic as well as business discussions, I get to watch new playwright’s develop their work and meet fantastic people on every show. I also get to be part of a community that is keeping Indie Theatre alive here in the city. So many companies start off with a bang and phase out by their second year, but Boomerang continues to produce year after year thanks to a commitment for putting on great work and a commitment to the artists that are part of its community. Most importantly, thanks to people who believe so much in the development of artistis work that they support it year after year. Thanks to all who have donated to Boomerang thus far and for those who will donate in the future. We can’t do this without all of you.

I’m proud to be a Boomerang board member and hope you’ll take the time to show your support this holiday season.  I started out as someone who just came and saw a few shows and now I’m proud to be part of the family. I invite you to be part of that family too. Happy Holidays.

You can make a tax-deductible donation here

Leave a Reply

