2017 Season, Boom Artists, Boomerang Support, donations, fundraising, How you can help, Indie Theatre Community, New Plays

The Boomerang Community: Jack Halpin

As part of our campaign to support new play development in 2017, we’ve asked members of Boomerang’s artistic family to write about our company and what makes us unique for them. We hope that you will recognize our distinctive contribution to New York City theatre with a financial gift this holiday season. We’re challenging donors to commit to a recurring donation of $10 or $25 per month for the entirety of 2017.

Donate Red Square 3D Realistic Isolated Web Button

But don’t take our word for it…

jack-halpin

Sometime soon after moving to New York City I was fortunate to be introduced Tim Errickson. My first jobs NYC theatre jobs were mostly on the road and when I was able to focus more on life and work here, I became involved with the Fringe/Off Off Broadway/Independent Theatre scene, inevitably meeting Tim. Before actually collaborating with Boomerang Theatre Company I was welcomed as a guest, colleague and a friend by people I met there; I found a place that valued sharing and respect – a place where I felt respected for who I was and what I was able to bring to the room – a place that was doing some really cool work and had a vision.

When cast, I was given a wonderful variety of roles in plays and readings that spanned genres and styles. A 5 park tour of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Chekhov’s Uncle Vanya reset in late 1980’s Bainbridge Island, Washington State. Backstage at a haunted drag club in Taylor Mac’s thoughtful short play written and performed in 24 hours. These plays and more challenged me in my craft and helped me find my place in the city’s theatre world. Moreover, I’ve seen some tremendous performances there and been able to work with some of my favorite artists. They’ve been part of my ongoing education as a theatre artist.

The folks at Boomerang became a tremendous resource to me when I took a leadership role at Art House Productions in Jersey City. They offered advice and support readily. Numerous performers have worked with both our companies. Boomerang became like a slightly older cousin to Art House, in my view; and while I couldn’t spend as much time, I always feel welcomed back.

Having spent much of my artistic work behind the scenes as well as in the spotlight, I observe how arts organizations affect not only the participants but also the greater community. From the popular free Shakespeare in the parks to accessible, affordable productions of plays from the classics the brand new, Boomerang Theatre Company has been consistently contributing to the cultural landscape of New York and the area for 18 years now.

That’s an achievement.

I’m happy they are taking a renewed initiative in the the development of original works for the stage.

Please consider helping support their vision.

Donate Red Square 3D Realistic Isolated Web Button

Leave a Reply

