2013 Season, Boom Artists, Boomerang 15, Indie Theatre Community, Shakespeare

Meet Boomerang’s first ever Audience Development Intern: Ariel Weitz

Hey folks…introducing Ariel Weitz, our new Audience Development Intern. This is something new we are trying, and something I feel is going to help us tremendously in Central Park this summer. So take a look at Ariel’s intro…as you can see, she’s not shy… –Tim

IMG_0194

Waddup Boomerang Crew!!!

I’m Ariel Weitz, the new Audience Development Intern for Boomerang Theater Company this summer. And yes, I was named after Ariel the little mermaid; it was my parents favorite Disney movie. I am super dee dooper excited to have involvement with Richard III this summer.

Let me start by saying that I am a theater geek, and I am proud of it. On and off from 5th grade to my senior year in high school, I have been a performer. Acting, singing, dancing; you name it, I did it! From being an out of this world Maria Gonzales in a camp production of Smile, to being Ms. Hannigan at my local community theater’s production of Annie, my list of roles I have performed are no doubt pretty whacky.

When I entered college I decided to put performing on hold and focus on my writing, in particular my playwriting. In high school, I managed to write small scenes in my spare time but I couldn’t really focus on it because my life was basically performing.

Life can work in miraculous and incredibly strange ways! And in just two years of college I have to become a very passionate person who has a dream of writing plays and musical for Broadway. I have managed to write a bunch of one acts, and one of them selected to be apart of the Hampshire College New Play Festival. Also, on the side, I love stage-managing, as most of my time at school has been assistant stage managing student productions.  Life keeps changing for me as I am transferring to the University of Vermont this fall.

This summer is going to rock! I am looking forward to getting much writing and reading done, taking numerous dips in the pool, and maybe going on a road trip or two, who the heck knows? But words cannot describe just how excited I am to be apart of this family. I can’t wait to learn and grow in ways I probably never knew I could because of my involvement with this wild Shakespeare show.

Like I said, it’s going to be one heck of a summer!

Leave a Reply

